The Consulate of the Republic of Estonia in Stäfa / Zürich

The functions, rights and duties of a consulate are settled in the International Consulate Agreement of Vienna. There it is also clearly stated that the guestland has to agree with the establishing of the consulate as well as with the person of the consul, respectively the honorary consul. In Switzerland a resolution of the Federal Councilor is needed.

The consuls (= professional representatives of the respective country, as well as the honorary consuls = representatives honoris causa, without an equivalent status of a civil servant) are on a par with each other. The consulate shall above all assist its fellow-countrymen in trouble, that is, to ensure that they will be treated according to the national and international laws and agreements. So you have to inform the consulate when in Switzerland a citizen of Estonia has been arrested by which cause whatever. Then is the consul legitimated and obliged to visit the prisoner and to secure that he will obtain his lawful legal protection.

The abolition of the mutual visa obligation between Switzerland and the Baltic States has reduced the working amount of the consulates. The remaining consular affairs like certifications and administrative regulations of estonian documents have been settled in detail between the Consulate, the Embassy in charge (in Brussels) and the Consular Department of the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Tallinn.

The Consulate of the Republic of Estonia in Stäfa / Zürich is endeavouring to assist the numerous Estonians in Switzerland, the residents as well as the travelling. Don’t hesitate to contact us!

With kind regards

Hans Graf
The Honorary Consul

 



You may contact the Consulate as follows:

Office hours: Mo, Tu, Thu, Fr,  09.00 - 11.00 h
Tel.  044 926 88 37
Fax  044 926 88 38
e-mail estland@bluewin.ch
or by the contact form
 
The Consulate in Stäfa is competent for the cantons Aargau, Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, Appenzell-Innerrhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Glarus, Graubünden, Luzern, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Uri, Zug and Zürich.
The Consulate in Geneva is competent for the cantons Fribourg, Geneva, Jura, Neuchâtel, Vaud and Valais.
The Consulate in Lugano is competent for the canton Ticino.
The Embassy of the Republic of Estonia in Brussels is competent for all aspects in the whole of Switzerland.

Das Konsulat der Republik Estland in Stäfa / Zürich

Aufgaben, Rechte und Pflichten eines Konsulates sind im internationalen Konsularabkommen von Wien geregelt. Dort wird auch klar geregelt, dass immer auch das Gastland mit der Errichtung des Konsulates und mit der Person des Konsuls oder Honorarkonsuls einverstanden sein muss. In der Schweiz braucht dies einen Beschluss des Bundesrates.

Konsule (= berufsmässige Vertreter des entsprechenden Landes, sowie Honorarkonsule = Vertreter ehrenhalber, ohne entsprechende Beamten-anstellung und Bezahlung) sind einander in ihren Aufgaben gleichgestellt. Das Konsulat soll vor allem in Probleme geratenen Landsleuten bei-stehen, um im Gastland entsprechend den nationalen und internationalen Gesetzen und Abkommen behandelt zu werden. So ist das Konsulat zu benachrichtigen, wenn ein Bürger der Republik Estland in der Schweiz aus irgend welchen Gründen verhaftet wird und in Haft sitzt. Der Konsul ist dann berechtigt und verpflichtet, den Häftling im Gefängnis zu besuchen und sicherzustellen, dass diesem der rechtmässige Rechtsschutz gewährt wird.

Mit der Abschaffung der gegenseitigen Visa-Pflicht zwischen der Schweiz und den baltischen Staaten sind die Konsulate entlastet. Die übrigen konsularischen Geschäfte wie Beglaubigungen und administrative Regelungen von estnischen Dokumenten sind im Detail zwischen dem Konsulat, der zuständigen Botschaft (in Brüssel) und der Konsularabteilung im estnischen Aussenministerium in Tallinn geregelt.

Das Konsulat der Republik Estland in Stäfa / Zürich wird sich bemühen, den zahlreichen sesshaften und den durchreisenden Esten in der Schweiz bei Problemen behilflich zu sein. Zögern Sie nicht, unsere Hilfe in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen

Hans Graf, Honorarkonsul

 



Das Konsulat ist wie folgt erreichbar:

Öffnungszeiten: Mo, Di, Do, Fr,  09.00 - 11.00 h
Tel.  044 926 88 37
Fax  044 926 88 38
e-mail estland@bluewin.ch
oder via Kontaktformular
 
Das Konsulat in Stäfa ist zuständig für die Kantone Aargau, Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, Appenzell-Innerrhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Glarus, Graubünden, Luzern, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Uri, Zug und Zürich.
Das Konsulat in Genf ist zuständig für die Kantone Freiburg, Genf, Jura, Neuenburg, Waadt und Wallis.
Das Konsulat in Lugano ist zuständig für den Kanton Tessin.
Die Botschaft der Republik Estland in Brüssel ist für die Belange in der ganzen Schweiz zuständig.