Deutsche Version

Three Countries - One Region in Fate 

The center of Europe - 

The Baltic States Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.


Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania form strictly speaking the Baltic Area.

These countries have in common the close history, that is the Sowiet occupation since the secret Hitler-Stalin pact in August 1939 till summer 1991.

Also these countries as well as their populations have always belonged to the cultural sphere of the West/Middle Europe.

They differ from each other with regard to their languages and their earlier history.

Switzerland - official and private institutions and persons - cultivated the relations with the Baltic States during the first independence aera in the 20th century from 1918 till 1939. These relations have now been re-established and shall be continued more intensively.

For trips to Estonia, Lativa and Lithuania a valid Swiss Identity Card is sufficient.

Please choose one country to get more information. design & realisation: Remo Marti    Updates:: Jürg Schneider   designed for the Opera Browser